Monday, 16 May 2011

Aurora Award Nomination!

I had the luck of being at the Prix Aurora/Boréal ceremony at the Congrès Boréal yesterday when they announced the English Aurora Award Ballot.  And Destiny's Blood made the ballot!


I can't thank everyone enough for taking the time to enjoy and nominate Destiny's Blood.  This wouldn't have happened without your support!

So now it's been nominated for the Foreword Book Awards, a judge-selected award, and the Aurora Awards, a fan-nominated award.  That is AWESOME!

I'm pleased to share the ballet with a bunch of awesome folk and friends.  Here's the full list.  I'll let you know when the polls are open!

(Interesting note - three members of the East Block Irregulars, my writing group, made it onto the ballot: Hayden Trenholm, Matt Moore and myself.  That is also pure awesome.)


Professional Awards

Best English Novel

Black Bottle Man by Craig Russell, Great Plains Publications
Destiny's Blood by Marie Bilodeau, Dragon Moon Press
Stealing Home by Hayden Trenholm, Bundoran Press
Under Heaven by Guy Gavriel Kay, Viking Canada
Watch, by Robert J. Sawyer, Penguin Canada

Best English Short Story

"The Burden of Fire" by Hayden Trenholm, Neo-Opsis #19
"Destiny Lives in the Tattoo's Needle" by Suzanne Church, Tesseracts Fourteen, EDGE
"The Envoy" by Al Onia, Warrior Wisewoman 3, Norilana Books
"Touch the Sky, They Say" by Matt Moore, AE: The Canadian Science Fiction Review, November
"Your Beating Heart" by M. G. Gillett, Rigor Amortis, Absolute Xpress

Best English Poem / Song

"The ABCs of the End of the World" by Carolyn Clink, A Verdant Green, The Battered Silicon Dispatch Box
"Let the Night In" by Sandra Kasturi, Evolve: Vampire Stories of the New Undead, EDGE
"Of the Corn: Kore's Innocence" by Colleen Anderson, Witches & Pagans #21
"The Transformed Man" by Robert J. Sawyer, Tesseracts Fourteen, EDGE
"Waiting for the Harrowing" by Helen Marshall, ChiZine 45

Best English Graphic Novel

Goblins, Tarol Hunt
Looking For Group, Vol. 3 by Ryan Sohmer and Lar DeSouza
Stargazer, Volume 1 by Von Allan, Von Allan Studio
Tomboy Tara, Emily Ragozzino

Best English Related Work

Chimerascope, Douglas Smith (collection), ChiZine Publications
The Dragon and the Stars, edited by Derwin Mak and Eric Choi, DAW
Evolve: Vampire Stories of the New Undead, edited by Nancy Kilpatrick, EDGE
On Spec, edited by Diane Walton, Copper Pig Writers Society
Tesseracts Fourteen, edited by John Robert Colombo and Brett Alexander Savory, EDGE

Best Artist (Professional and Amateur)
(An example of each artist’s work is listed below but they are to be judged on the body of work they have produced in the award year)

Lynne Taylor Fahnestalk, "Brekky" cover art, On Spec Fall
Erik Mohr, cover art for ChiZine Publications
Christina Molendyk, Girls of Geekdom Calendar for Argent Dawn Photography
Dan O'Driscoll, cover art for Stealing Home
Aaron Paquette, "A New Season" cover art, On Spec Spring

Fan/ Amateur Awards

Best Fan Publications

No award will be given out in this category due insufficient eligible nominees

Best Fan Filk

Dave Clement and Tom Jeffers of Dandelion Wine for "Face on Mars" CD
Karen Linsley; concert as SFContario Guest of Honour
Phil Mills, for “Time Traveller” (song writing)

Best Fan Organizational

Andrew Gurudata, organizing the Constellation Awards
Brent M. Jans, chair of Pure Speculation (Edmonton)
Liana Kerzner, chair of Futurecon (Toronto)
Helen Marshall and Sandra Kasturi, chairs of Toronto SpecFic Colloquium (Toronto)
Alex Von Thorn, chair of SFContario (Toronto)

Best Fan Other

Tom Jeffers, Fundraising, FilKONtario
John and Linda Ross Mansfield, Conception of the Aurora Nominee pins
Lloyd Penney, Articles, columns and letters of comment - fanzines


  1. Whoo Hooo!!! I'm rooting for you to win!

  2. Thanks Kris! Regardless of whether I win or not, having you in my corner already warms my heart!

  3. Congratulations. As I recall there is a voting process. What is the process?

  4. Thanks Paul! Canadian citizens are welcome to vote from beginning of June until October 15. Members of SFContario get to vote for free (since it's the host con this year), but there's a fee of 5.50 for everyone else. I'll post the link when the voting period begins ! :D